Collins to Detail "Exceptional" Opportunities

Francis S. Collins, M.D., Ph.D.

RSNA is pleased to welcome National Institutes of Health (NIH) Director Francis S. Collins, M.D., Ph.D., to the Arie Crown Theater stage this morning to present a Special Lecture, "Exceptional Opportunities in Biomedical Research." Dr. Collins' lecture is part of the RSNA 2014 Opening Session beginning at 8:30 a.m.

Those exceptional opportunities, says Dr. Collins, come from scientific and technological breakthroughs. With particular focus on NIH-supported imaging research, Dr. Collins will detail recent advances in fundamental knowledge about biology and highlight the ways in which that expanded knowledge is serving to improve human health. NIH projects that serve as examples include the Brain Research through Advancing Innovative Neurotechnologies (BRAIN) Initiative and the Accelerating Medicines Partnership (AMP), as well as affordable technologies to extend imaging insights to low-resource settings.

Dr. Collins will also address future challenges, such as training the next generation of researchers and supporting the development of innovative research, programs and partnerships. He will also talk about how to encourage broader appreciation and support for the biomedical research enterprise.

As NIH director, Dr. Collins oversees the work of the largest supporter of biomedical research in the world, spanning the spectrum from basic to clinical research. He is a physician-geneticist noted for his landmark discoveries of disease genes and his leadership of the international Human Genome Project, which culminated in April 2003 with the completion of a finished sequence of the human DNA instruction book. He served as director of the National Human Genome Research Institute at the NIH from 1993-2008.

Before coming to the NIH, Dr. Collins was a Howard Hughes Medical Institute investigator at the University of Michigan. He is an elected member of the Institute of Medicine and the National Academy of Sciences, was awarded the Presidential Medal of Freedom in November 2007 and received the National Medal of Science in 2009.

Share this article: Share on Facebook Share on twitter