Gold Medals Presented Today

RSNA's highest honor—the Gold Medal–will be awarded to three individuals during today's plenary session.

Gary J. Becker, M.D.

Known for his remarkable leadership qualities, Gary J. Becker, M.D., served as 2009 RSNA President and as executive director of the American Board of Radiology (ABR) from 2007 until his retirement in mid-2014. A renowned interventional radiologist, Dr. Becker served as branch chief of image guided intervention in the Division of Cancer Treatment and Diagnosis at the National Cancer Institute. Along with his vast research achievements, Dr. Becker was a dedicated educator and mentor to thousands of medical students, residents and fellows.

Etta D. Pisano, M.D.

Etta D. Pisano, M.D., is known for her tireless efforts to develop, apply and test imaging technology for the early detection and diagnosis of breast cancer and other breast problems.

Dr. Pisano served as the first woman dean of the College of Medicine at the Medical University of South Carolina (MUSC) from 2010 to 2014. Her groundbreaking study, Digital Mammographic Imaging Screening Tool (DMIST), was the largest clinical trial ever led by a radiologist, and provided essential information about the efficacy of digital mammography.

Allen S. Lichter, M.D.

Allen S. Lichter, M.D., is chief executive officer of the American Society of Clinical Oncology (ASCO). His achievements in cancer research, education and clinical care include a groundbreaking National Cancer Institute trial indicating that lumpectomy and radiation therapy are as effective as mastectomy in treating breast cancer. As dean of medical school at the University of Michigan, Dr. Lichter oversaw creation of a Biomedical Science Research facility; his ASCO tenure has seen the debut of such projects as the Quality Oncology Practice Initiative.

Read more about the 2014 RSNA Gold Medalists starting on Page 17 of the Program in Brief or online in the October-November issue of RSNA News at

Share this article: Share on Facebook Share on twitter